Author Topic: Engineer  (Read 2840 times)

Offline Clear

• --
  • RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Engineer
« on: Tuesday 31 May 22 17:30 BST (UK) »
The use of the word Engineer has changed over time.  In the early 19th Century the civilian title Engineer was a very high position like an Architect. It was also a Navy rank.  Words like Fitter or Machinist were used for lower "shop floor" jobs.

There is also a Chartered Engineer.

Today however the word Engineer is everywhere and hundreds of thousands of people say "I'm a good engineer" in connection with hundreds of different occupations.

Offline CaroleW

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Barney 1993-2004
    • View Profile
Re: Engineer
« Reply #1 on: Monday 13 June 22 22:42 BST (UK) »
Is there any particular point behind your post?  Is it perhaps related to another post about engineers?
Census Information is Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
Carlin (Ireland & Liverpool) Doughty & Wright (Liverpool) Dick & Park (Scotland & Liverpool)

Offline Ruskie

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Monday 13 June 22 23:20 BST (UK) »
Many occupations and their titles have changed over time. An Engineer also used to be another name for an engine driver or anyone who looked after any kinds of engines.

I disagree that the word “engineer” is everywhere these days. I’ve never heard anyone say  “I’m a good engineeer” in relation to any other occupations, or in fact anything ever.   ::) 

….. and what does it matter if they do?  :-\

I don’t understand the relevance of fitter or machinist if you are interested in the occupation ‘engineer’.

If there anything is anything specific you want to know about engineers I’m sure a simple Google search will give you lots of results and answer any questions you have about this and other occupations.

Offline Rena

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Crown Copyright: www.nationalarchives.gov.uk