Author Topic: Wife of Gavin Jack - drowning near Wick 1854  (Read 897 times)

Offline mimbobryant

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Wife of Gavin Jack - drowning near Wick 1854
« on: Wednesday 14 September 22 20:43 BST (UK) »
Hello there,

I am new to rootschat but have been really enjoying digging into my family tree recently whilst on maternity leave! It seems like a veritable treasure trove of information! There is a branch on my Dad's side that come from the Wick and Canisbay area.

I have come across a brief news article which I believe is about my 4x Great Grandparents Gavin born c.1790 and Flora Jack (nee Stuart) born c.1803. Gavin was a Pilot in Pulteneytown Wick and his wife was apparently found drowned according to this newspaper article. I am wondering if there is any way to get more information about this incident from somewhere, possibly some kind of "police" records if the cause of death would have been investigated at all? I have been searching for a death registration for her but realise it took place just before statutory death registration came in - nothing on Ancestry or Scotlands People that I can see. I haven't been able to find her listed in any monument inscription webpages so far either but as Gavin died a pauper I imagine there may not have been money for a headstone.

The article says: