Author Topic: Unknown father of Joseph Callender b.1866 Glasgow, Scotland.  (Read 2023 times)

Offline Esspee

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Unknown father of Joseph Callender b.1866 Glasgow, Scotland.
« on: Saturday 13 April 24 12:57 BST (UK) »
Joseph Callender is my gt grandfather.  His mother was Lilias Callender b.1843 Glasgow.
Lilias subsequently married Robert McKechnie in 1871 when Joseph was 5 years old.  Census evidence shows that Joseph was the stepson of Robert McKechnie.  Despite it being clear that Robert McKechnie wasn’t Joseph’s father almost every tree they are on states he is, which frankly is annoying.
I am relatively new to genealogy and I would greatly appreciate the help of any members who could point me in the direction of how I can possibly discover who really was the father of Joseph. Hoping someone can help 🤞🏽Thanks for reading.

Offline RJ_Paton

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • Cuimhnichibh air na daoine bho'n d'thainig sibh
    • View Profile
Re: Unknown father of Joseph Callender b.1866 Glasgow, Scotland.
« Reply #1 on: Saturday 13 April 24 13:33 BST (UK) »
Do you have Joseph's Birth Registration.

As there is no father listed on it the chances of finding/identifying his father are slim. DNA may be your only solution.

PS as others here may say don't trust online trees and take their findings with not a pinch of salt but a mountain of it.

Offline CaroleW

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Barney 1993-2004
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Saturday 13 April 24 13:46 BST (UK) »
I agree totally with the reply above. 

There are countless posts on Rootschat about the amount of incorrect info on other peoples trees. Many just copy from other trees rather than doing their own research so errors multiply.

DNA is your only way forward in this case unless Joseph named a different father on his marriage cert?