Author Topic: James of Newtown  (Read 3067 times)

Offline CRJ

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
James of Newtown
« on: Sunday 18 September 05 15:47 BST (UK) »
~~~~~~~~
hello everyone,

I place this inquiry on the denbigh chat area and was advice to move it to the Mongomeryshire roots chat.

I'm sorry but I am very new to this. I have been researching my father's RAF years for three years and have just come across a newspaper clipping from either end 1943 or early 1944.

one reads as follows;

D.F.C. FOR NEWTOWN AIRMAN

Pilot Officer Rodney Arthur Vincent James, R.A.F., of Penygelli, Newtown, aged 20 years has been awarded the Distinguished Flying Cross. The award is believed to be the first of its kind to be made to an airman from the district in the present war.

A son of Mr. A.A. James, who is now District Officer, Oswestry, with the Salop War Agricultural Executive Committee, Pilot Officer James has lived for many years with his grandmother at Penygelli. She is well known in the district, and has been one of the Governors of Newtown County School for 26 years. He was born in Denbigh, and his mother died 19 years ago.

Starting his school life under Mr. David Rowlands, at Penygloddia School, Newtown, Pilot Officer James continued his education at Newtown County School. He remained there from 1935 until 1937, and left to complete his school career at Christ College, Brecon, and Diggins Private School, Tunbridge Wells.

On his 18th birthday he volunteered for service with the R.A.F., and after a period of initial training in the country he completed his course in Canada an America. He has been many times over enemy territory on operational flights and on more than one occasion to Berlin.

His brother Dennis, aged 19, who also attended Newtown County School, won a County Exhibition from there. He was awarded 140 pound (I don't have the pound sign on my key board !!)  bursary at the Aberystwyth University College of Wales, where he is now studying.

--------