Author Topic: Kent Churches Open to Visitors  (Read 3279 times)

Offline Billans

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
Kent Churches Open to Visitors
« on: Sunday 26 August 07 22:31 BST (UK) »
I am planning a short visit to Kent in two months' time. I intend visiting several Parish churches and churchyards in towns like Nonington, Walmer, Deal and Woodnesborough where many of my ancestors lived in the 1700's.
Could someone tell me if this is feasible ; are these places open to visitors during weekdays ? Are they likely to have old records, or are these kept elsewhere ? If so, is there a central archive thereabouts.
Billans

Offline bishopsb

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Re: Kent Churches Open to Visitors
« Reply #1 on: Monday 27 August 07 01:35 BST (UK) »
Hi Billans,
I am not an expert here, but I thought I'd share my experience. 
I was just visiting Kent from the US to see Kingsnorth and Great Chart churches.  I found Kingsnorth closed up, but was desperate enough to knock on the vicar's door.  She was very obliging and unlocked it all for me to see and it was very worthwhile. 

However, I was also visiting some churches in Sussex and found some do not have a dedicated vicar.  There was a phone number to call, which I did, and the message stated the vicar was not able to return messages for about a week. 

To the best of my knowledge, the churches don't have the actual records, you'd probably have to consult the Center for Kentish Studies in Maidstone. 
Have a good trip!

Offline Billans

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Monday 27 August 07 02:22 BST (UK) »
Hi Bishopsb (That wouldn't be Bishop's School, Cape Town would it ?)
Thanks for the advice based on your personal experience. I rather think I'll find the same thing happening in the churches I plan to visit, so the advice about Maidstone might prove invaluable
Regards,  Billans

Offline casalguidi