Author Topic: any ideas  (Read 1910 times)

Offline cookie

• RootsChat Member
    • View Profile
any ideas
« on: Tuesday 01 March 05 22:27 GMT (UK) »
Hi all

Im new to all this and would appreciate a bit of help.

My nana was married twice. My dad was born in 1945 and her 1st husband died only a few months before my dad was born. Ive also found out that my nana and grandad ( her 2nd husband) didnt marry until 1952.  As theres a 7 yr gap did they have to wait ex amount of years to marry? Could she have been told her 1st husband had died or was missing in action?
I have very little to go on apart from her 1st husbands death info and yes, my dad is definately her 2nd husbands child.

Many thanks for any info.

cookie
Allington from Woolpit & Ipswich, Suffolk
Hammond from Ipswich, Gosbeck & Ashbocking, Suffolk
Fitch from Ipswich & Woodbridge, Suffolk
Ellis from Cheshire & Lancashire

Offline suttontrust

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: any ideas
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 01 March 05 22:43 GMT (UK) »
What information do you have about her first husband's death?  Was he a serving soldier?  If his death was confirmed in 1945 there would be no reason for your nana to wait to re-marry.  The explanation could be that the first marriage had broken down well before his death and she had another relationship which couldn't result in marriage.  Perhaps her second husband was married when your father was born.  What was your father told about the circumstances?   
Godden in East Sussex, mainly Hastings area.
Richards in Lea, Gloucestershire, then London.
Williamson in Leith, Vickers in Nottingham.
Webb in Bildeston and Colchester.
Wesbroom in Kirby le Soken.
Ellington in Harwich.
Park, Palmer, Segar and Peartree in Kersey.

Offline casalguidi

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Tuesday 01 March 05 22:46 GMT (UK) »
Hi Cookie