Author Topic: Hugh Miller  (Read 9887 times)

Offline Youngy1981

• RootsChat Member
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Hugh Miller
« on: Monday 02 May 11 15:01 BST (UK) »
Hi i'm new to rootschat so please bear ith me i'm looking for information on Hugh Miller born in 1887 in county carlow and died in 1979 in County Tyrone he married in 1926 and had 3 daughters 1 of who is now deceased but 1 is still living in Tyrone i was wondering if anyone could help me out
Young, Bland, Glossop, Warrington, Rowland, Ball, Gregory, Howsley, Higton, Miller, Laidlaw, Walker, Cairns, Turnbull, Bell, Chadwick, Bradbury, Gould, Harvey, Webster.

From, Cumberland (Cumbria), Derbyshire, Rostrevor, Kilkee, USA, Australia,

Offline shanew147

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • Dublin, Ireland
    • View Profile
Re: Hugh Miller
« Reply #1 on: Monday 02 May 11 15:11 BST (UK) »
You can search the civil BMD Index to try to locate a birth reference for Hugh. Using the details on the index you can then order certs from the GRO to see if they fit the clues you have. I had a quick look at the index but none of the births for a Hugh Miller between 1886 and 1888 seem to be in Carlow.. see : link

Do you have his marriage cert ?

That should give his father's name and occupation. Using this information and Hugh's age it may be possible to locate the family on the 1901 and/or 1911 census - see : http://www.census.nationalarchives.ie/

see : Introduction to Irish Records

Shane
Remember to check the Resource boards :  Ireland, Dublin, Antrim & Cork (and stickies at the top of other county sub-forums)    
My Surname Interests

Offline Youngy1981

• RootsChat Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Monday 02 May 11 15:14 BST (UK) »