Author Topic: DRING Family in West Oxfordshire  (Read 5230 times)

Offline adring

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
DRING Family in West Oxfordshire
« on: Tuesday 15 October 13 22:36 BST (UK) »
Hello All,

On advice from "Aristocrat" Nigel, I am posting my first message on the Beginner's Forum.  Please be patient!

I am looking for DRINGS in (West) Oxfordshire and have cobbled together some information involving my direct ancestors from the Charlbury area:

Alfred Edward Dring: Born 1879 (Married to Edith Honey)
(Alfred's Father) Charles Dring: Born 1838? (Married to Mary, nee Biles, a widow of Reuben Biles? in 1877)
(Charles' Father) Joseph Dring: Born 1806? (Married to Sophia, nee Doare in 1832). They had four children, including Charles, and possibly another illegitimate daughter?

I am very new to this and am still unsure about how to proceed further back from Joseph.  From parish records, I see there are 2 Josephs baptised in 1806 to 2 different couples in West Oxfordshire. Thomas & Mary OR Joseph & Mary. Which -if any- was he born to? And how do I find out?

I keep hearing about a George Dring, but have so far not traced him as a possible link.  But as I said, I'm new! 

Anyone got any advice? I've only got this far with the support of some very helpful people!

Best Wishes,

Ali
DRING ~ West Oxfordshire
BILES ~ Gloucestershire?
COCKINGS ~ Durham/Hunts
BENTLEY ~ ?
JOHNSON ~ ?
SWITZER ~ ?
HERMAN ~ ?

Offline garstonite

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: DRING Family in West Oxfordshire
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 16 October 13 07:25 BST (UK) »
Hiya Ali - sorry I can`t help with your Oxfds Dring family -but there are a few Dring here in Garston,Liverpool...
http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/Search/indexp.html have a look on this site - been in this area since late 1700`s ...
if you do make a connection to Liverpool , let me know and I will get in touch with my mate who is a Dring