Author Topic: Barbara Batten & the Shirrefs Gordon of Craig Castle  (Read 1375 times)

Offline Reigate1999

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Barbara Batten & the Shirrefs Gordon of Craig Castle
« on: Wednesday 03 June 20 23:57 BST (UK) »
Hi all,

This is my first post on here and I am quite new to researching my family history, so here goes! I’m looking to see if there is a connection between my 2nd great-grandmother Barbara Shirrefs Lumsden Batten and the Shirrefs Gordon family of Craig Castle, Rhynie, Aberdeenshire. This is something that has been discussed in my family for a long time without any proper research, so I’d be very grateful for any insights or advice  :)

Barbara Shirrefs Lumsden Batten (b. 1867, Southampton; d. 1953 Leamington Spa) was the daughter of James Batten (whose ancestors I have traced back to the early 18th century, all in Hampshire, Dorset and Wiltshire) and Eleanor née Smith, listed in censuses as being born in Scotland/Aberdeen(shire) but whose ancestry I know nothing about other than the name of her father, as listed on her marriage certificate (William). Barbara is the only one of her siblings to have been given Scottish middle names. I am aware that Lumsden is a relatively common Scottish surname but it appears to be quite a popular middle name given to children of the Shirrefs/Gordon family.

My grandmother and great-uncle have always been under the impression that there is some sort of family connection between their grandmother Barbara Batten and Craig Castle but they do not know what it is. They even visited it once briefly in the late 1950s with their parents (my great-grandparents), while on a family holiday to Scotland.