Author Topic: william verling / verlin  (Read 1301 times)

Offline cathieee

• RootsChat Member
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
william verling / verlin
« on: Thursday 25 March 21 02:01 GMT (UK) »
hi i m trying to find the birth of my great x 4 grandfather william verling, he married in cobh in 1833 to abbey keefe and they had children there one being my great x 3 nan mary verling born 1836 cobh, she married stephen pilcher, on the original marriage cert which i ve got she says her father is william verling and he s a waterman by trade,i also have her birth record that has her parents names, same, cobh, i can find plenty of births for verlings from castlelyons round the later 1700 s to early 1800 s, such as richard, bartholomew, garret, john, patrick and a good few more, but i can find no william :( , i ve been on rootsireland but can find no birth or death for him .... i know the verlings i ve mentioned above were quite well to do, so i m not saying my william is related to them, i ve fell for that before on another line of my tree lol, but i was told on the website coastguards of yesteryear that there were only a few verling families in cobh, castlelyon area and all naval, ,thomas, garrett,patrick, john, edward, matthew and richard all born between 1780 to 1820, which would be from when he was born, any help or pointers most welcome, i should point out that stephen pilcher and his father also stephen were both coastguards after being in the navy in cork and waterford, thanks cathie

Offline ballydw

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Re: william verling / verlin
« Reply #1 on: Friday 22 October 21 20:24 BST (UK) »
There is a death Registration for a William Verling 20 Feb 1885 Age 86yrs a gardener Informant wife Mary Verling. Address Carrignafoy Queenstown (Cobh) Reg District Cork

Offline cathieee

• RootsChat Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Monday 25 October 21 00:24 BST (UK) »