Author Topic: Gilmores (and Wilsons) in Ballyagan (near Garvagh)  (Read 1867 times)

Offline ballyagan

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Gilmores (and Wilsons) in Ballyagan (near Garvagh)
« on: Wednesday 23 November 22 18:32 GMT (UK) »
Hi all: I am new to researching in these parts, and was hoping to see if anyone can help confirm and add to my unravelling of my Gilmores and Wilsons. It has been quite a challenge, but think I have taken it far enough to share and look for feedback!

My Gilmores lived in Ballyagan, so across the river from Inshaleen were there was another large contingent of Gilmores. I have seen some posts related to the Inshaleen Gilmores, particularly from aghadowey, and so perhaps someone either connects to the Ballyagan line or has come across it when sorted out their own Gilmores.

What I have pieced together comes from a combination of the Garvagh visitations (though I understand those can be problematic), church records, civil death registrations, graveyard transcriptions, Griffith's valuations, and probate indices. The highlights are as follows:

1. John Gilmore & Rebecca [------], Ballyagan. John seems to have died between the 1796 and 1818 visitations, while Rebecca ("Widow Gilmore") seems to have died between the 1825 and 1840 visitations. Children include 2. James, 2. John, Anne, Elizabeth, Jane, and, most likely, 2. Thomas.

2. James Gilmore & Elizabeth [------], Ballyagan. James died 1847 (probate index has a record of a James Gilmore in Ballyagan in 1847). Elizabeth may have died before 1861 per the valuations (she is listed as tenant from 1859 to 1861). Children include John, James, Anne, Robert, and William.